Archive of News Updates

Division of General Internal Medicine News Updates

Dr. Gbenga Ogedegbe Receives K24 Midcareer Investigator Award in Patient-Oriented Research 1/15/2012
Donna Shelley, MD, MPH, named DGIM Associate Director for Research 10/7/2011
NIAAA awards 5-year grant to Yale/NYU/VA Consortium to Improve Outcomes in HIV/AIDS, Alcohol, Aging, and Multi-Substance Use 9/23/2011
Gbenga Ogedegbe, MD, MS, MPH, Awarded 5-year grant through NIH Fogarty International Center 9/19/2011
Scott Braithwaite, MD, MSc, FACP, Elected President of the Society for Medical Decision Making 9/1/2011
The Program for Medical Education Innovations and Research (PrMEIR) announces grantees 8/19/2011
Olugbenga Ogedegbe, MD, Honored with National Mentoring Award 7/29/2011
Allen Keller, MD, joins NYC's campaign to combat human trafficking 5/19/2011
Andrew Rasmussen, PhD, receives grant from Foundation for Child Development's Young Scholars Program 4/15/2011
Request for Applicants for Program to Increase Diversity in Behavioral Medicine and Sleep Disorders Research (PRIDE) 3/17/2011
Bellevue clinic receives recognition as medical home 2/28/2011
Antoinette Schoenthaler, EdD, joins MINT 2/8/2011
Gbenga Ogedegbe, MD, MS, MPH, FACP, appointed to Institute of Medicine committee 2/1/2011
Bellevue/NYU Survivors of Torture Program featured on CNN 12/22/2010
Nirav R. Shah, MD, MPH, of the Division of General Internal Medicine Named Commissioner of NYS Department of Health 12/21/2010
Damara Gutnick, MD, to Present at IHI Annual International Summit 11/2/2010
Health Promotion and Prevention Research Center Receives $3.2 Million Grant from CDC 8/5/2010
Mitchell Charap, MD, Serves as Inaugural Mark Pecker Clinical Master 6/1/2010
Program for Medical Education Innovations and Research (PrMEIR) Announces Request for Intramural Grant Proposals 5/1/2010
Jennifer Friedberg, PhD, receives 4-year VA Health Services Research & Development Award 3/21/2010
SGIM Conference at NYULMC is a Resounding Success 3/15/2010
Natalie Young Awarded AHA Health Sciences Student Research Fellowship 3/10/2010
NIH Features Study by DGIM’s Gbenga Ogedegbe, MD, MPH, on its website 2/25/2010
Melanie Jay, MD, Receives International Attention for Research on Physicians' Attitudes and Weight Loss 1/2/2010
DGIM Faculty Achievements for Academic Year '08-'09 11/2/2009
Merrin Master Clinician Program Names Fellows 10/3/2009
Scott Braithwaite, MD, MSc, Joins DGIM to Launch New Section 9/3/2009
Gbenga Ogedegbe, MD, MPH, discusses health care reforms on ABC-TV 8/16/2009
Antoinette Schoenthaler, Ed.D., receives Junior Faculty Award at Research Day 6/2/2009
Nirav Shah receives Mid-Atlantic Regional Award for Excellence 4/21/2009
Michael Perskin, MD, to serve as Director, Department of Medicine Faculty Practice 7/15/2008
Nirav Shah, MD, MPH named DGIM Associate Director for Research 6/18/2008
Adina Kalet honored by the Society of General Internal Medicine with its National Award for Scholarship in Medical Education 4/22/2008
Stanley and Judith Zabar donation to found Program for Medical Education Innovations and Research 4/17/2008
Komen Foundation awards grant to Center for Immigrant Health to help immigrant women obtain breast cancer care 4/17/2008
Mark Schwartz, MD, to receive Distinguished Educator Award 3/20/2008
Doug Bails named to AOA Honor Medical Society for outstanding contributions teaching medical students and residents 2/29/2008
Brian Elbel to Study Vulnerable Populations with grant from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation 2/29/2008
DGIM 'Young Investigators' Present at Awards Competition 2/1/2008
Francesca Gany to serve on national Cultural Competency guidelines steering committee 1/25/2008
National news covers Bellevue/NYU prescription painkiller treatment study 12/14/2007
Joshua Lee receives 2007 Best Abstract Award from AMERSA 11/2/2007
Scott Sherman and colleagues find ‘on call’ counseling beneficial in smoking cessation intervention 10/29/2007
First edition of DGIM Newsletter published! 10/17/2007
AACH honors Mack Lipkin, MD, with 2007 Engel Award 10/3/2007
David Marcus, PhD wins American Geriatric Society award for Biology of Aging research poster 9/12/2007
Dr. Nirav Shah, MD, MPH selected for the Robert Wood Johnson Physician Faculty Scholars Program 7/20/2007
Medicine and Public Health Research Fellowship Program graduates first class 7/20/2007
American Geriatric Society Awards Geriatrics Training Grant to NYU School of Medicine 7/20/2007
Joshua Lee Honored for Innovations in Medical Education 5/22/2007
Andrew Wallach, MD receives HHC Doctors’ Day Award 4/13/2007
Francesca Gany awarded $150,000 by Komen Foundation for program to increase participation of limited English proficiency patients in breast cancer trials 4/11/2007
Bellevue Section of General Internal Medicine co-launches collaborative diabetes initiative 10/5/2006
James Underberg, MD, to join national Clinical Data Standards Writing Committee 10/5/2006
Jyotsna Changrani, MD, MPH, Center for Immigrant Health, spearheads NIH-funded hypertension study in South Asian immigrants 10/5/2006